25. After Offering to Drogo

Season 1 Episode 1 Winter is Coming
Location: Mansion of Magister Illyrio Mopatis, The Free City of Pentos, Essos

[ILLYRIO, VISERYS and DAENERYS on a garden balcony overlooking the sea.]

ILLYRIO: It won’t be long now. Soon you will cross the Narrow Sea and take back your father’s throne. The people drink secret toasts to your health. They cry out for their true king.

VISERYS: When will they be married?

ILLYRIO: Soon. The Dothraki never stay still for long.

VISERYS: Is it true they lie with their horses?

ILLYRIO: I wouldn’t ask Khal Drogo.

VISERYS: Do you take me for a fool?

ILLYRIO: I take you for a king. Kings lack the caution of common men. My apologies if I’ve given offense.

VISERYS: I know how to play a man like Drogo. I give him a queen and he gives me an army.

DAENERYS: (pleadingly) I don’t want to be his queen. I want to go home.

VISERYS: So do I. I want us both to go home. But they took it from us. So tell me, sweet sister, how do we go home?

DAENERYS: I don’t know.

VISERYS: We go home with an army. With Khal Drogo’s army. I would let his whole tribe fuck you, all 40,000 men and their horses too, if that’s what it took.

[VISERYS gives DAENERYS a brotherly kiss on the forehead and walks away.]

Leave a Reply

