21. Preparing for the Khal (TV)

Season 1 Episode 1 Winter is Coming
Location: Mansion of Magister Illyrio Mopatis, The Free City of Pentos, Essos

ckswmjuwiaa_9ny-jpg-large

[DAENERYS stands on a balcony in Pentos, looking across the Narrow Sea.]

VISERYS (off camera): Daenerys!

[VISERYS enters the large chamber.]

VISERYS: Daenerys! There’s our bride to be. Look, a gift from Illyrio. Touch it. Go on, feel the fabric. Mmmm. Isn’t he a gracious host?

DAENERYS: We’ve been his guests for over a year and he’s never asked us for anything.

VISERYS: Illyrio is no fool. He knows I won’t forget my friends when I come into my throne. You still slouch. Let me see. [He pulls off her gown.] You have a woman’s body now. [She endures it as he strokes her breast.] I need you to be perfect today. Can you do that for me? You don’t want to wake the dragon, do you?

DAENERYS: No.

[VISERYS nods and starts to leave the chamber. He turns.]

VISERYS: When they write the history of my reign, sweet sister, they will say it began today.

[DAENERYS turns and steps into a steaming hot bath with a despairing look on her face.]

MAID: It’s too hot, my lady.

[But DAENERYS keeps stepping deeper.]

Leave a comment