10. Execution of Will (Show)

Season 1 Episode 1 Winter is Coming
Location: The North, Westeros

[WILL is taken to the block.]

WILL: (muttering) White Walkers. I saw the White Walkers. White Walkers. The White Walkers, I saw them.

[WILL and NED face each other.]

WILL: I know I broke my oath. And I know I’m a deserter. I should have gone back to the Wall and warned them. But I saw what I saw. I saw the White Walkers. People need to know. If you can get word to my family, tell them I’m no coward. Tell them I’m sorry.

[NED nods and WILL is positioned on the tree limb that serves as a block. NED draws Ice from a scabbard held by THEON.]

WILL: (whispering) Forgive me, lord.

[NED bows his head over Ice.]

NED: In the name of Robert of the House Baratheon, first of his name…

JON (to BRAN): Don’t look away.

NED: King of the Andals and the First Men…

JON: Father will know if you do.

NED: Lord of the Seven Kingdoms and Protector of the Realm, I, Eddard of the House Stark, Lord of Winterfell and Warden of the North, sentence you to die.

[NED swings Ice and beheads WILL. BRAN does not look away.]

JON: You did well.

[JON walks away. ROBB turns and puts his arm around BRAN and they go to their horses together. NED approaches BRAN.]

NED: You understand why I did it?

BRAN: Jon said he was a deserter.

NED: But do you understand why I had to kill him?

BRAN: Our way is the old way?

NED: The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword.

BRAN: Is it true he saw the White Walkers?

NED: The White Walkers have been gone for thousands of years.

BRAN: So he was lying?

NED: A madman sees what he sees.

Leave a Reply

